Vita - english

 

 

The German born Robin Engelen, since 2015 2nd Music Director of the Graz Opera, Austria, started his career as Chief Conductor of Klangwerk Orchestra in 1993-2003, where he conducted a broad variety of concerts, including a complete cycle of Beethoven and Brahms symphonies, and 20th century classics such as Stravinsky, Bartók, Ravel and Shostakovich. As Assistant Conductor at the State Opera Stuttgart in 1999-2006, Mr Engelen has led acclaimed productions of operas by Mozart, Smetana, Prokoviev, Saint-Saens and Richard Wagner. Feruccio Busoni’s Doktor Faust won the Show of the Year Award by the German speaking magazine Opernwelt. In 2010-2013 he served as 2nd Music Director at the Opera Bonn, having conducted a broad operatic repertoire including works by Bizet, Rossini, Bellini, Verdi, Puccini, Nicolai, Lortzing, Humperdinck, Délibes and again Mozart. In 2001 the Belgian ensemble Het Collectief appointed him Principal Guest Conductor.

 

 

Mr Engelen has worked with many fine ensembles in Europe and the world, including the Leipzig Gewandhaus, Stuttgart Radio Orchestra and Stuttgart Philharmonic, Berlin Konzerthaus Orchestra, Berlin Radio Symphony (RSB), Dusseldorf Philharmonic, Essen Philharmonic, as well as the Royal Flemish Philharmonic, Prometheus Orchestra, Oregon Bach Festival Orchestra, Mahler Chamber Orchestra and Tokyo Philharmonic. Among the orchestras he has led are the Philharmonie Südwestfalen, Westfälische Philharmonie Recklinghausen, State Orchestra Halle, Norddeutsche Philharmonie, Philharmonic Altenburg-Gera, Belgian ensemble I solisti del Vento and Orchestra Sinfonica di San Remo. Festivals he has visited include Oregon Bach Festival, Beethovenfest Bonn, Korean Music Festival Tongyeong, Ars Musica Belgium, Festival van Vlaanderen, Operadaagen Rotterdam, Festival de Saintes, Festival Crete Senesi, WestfalenClassics, Rheingau, Baden-Baden, Stuttgart, Salzburg, and Bregenz.

 

 

His interest in early music saw him conducting the C. P. E. Bach Chamber Orchestra Berlin, Stuttgart Bach Collegium, Gächinger Kantorei and Gotha Baroque Festival Orchestra in Europe’s oldest exsisting theatre. As frequent guest of the Stuttgart Chamber Orchestra he has conducted tours through Korea, Italy and Turkey. Through his broad repertoire dating from XVIIth to XXIst century, Mr Engelen is also a frequent supporter of contemporary music, having constantly collaborated with renowned composers such as Sofia Gubaidulina, Wolfgang Rihm, Peter Eötvös, Helmut Lachenmann, Toshio Hosokawa, Mauricio Kagel, Judith Weir, Sally Beamish and Frank Michael Beyer. His recording of saxophone concertos by Beamish, Steven Stucky and Chen Yi was published at BIS. With Helmuth Rilling as partner he conducted a widely acclaimed recording of Britten’s War Requiem with Annette Dasch, James Taylor and Christian Gerhaher as soloists.

 

 

As pianist and harpsichordist Mr Engelen worked together with a variety of singers and instrumentalists, notably Annette Dasch, Helene Schneiderman, Catriona Smith, Mirella Hagen, Markus Butter, Melanie Diener, Michael Volle, Gernot Suessmuth, Friedemann Eichhorn, Gaby Pas-van Riet, Quirine Viersen. He appeared as jazz pianist and arranger at the Oregon Bach Festival and the Vladivostok Jazz Festival and performed with the famous Argentinian tango orchestra Sexteto Mayor.

 

 

A notable opera conductor too, Mr Engelen appeared in various opera houses in Berlin (Komische Oper), Paris (Garnier), Mannheim, Antwerpen, Leipzig, Kassel, Essen, Rostock, Palermo, Yakutsk  and Seoul. For his opera productions he collaborated with prestigious stage directors as Graham Vick, Peter Konwitschny, Jossi Wieler, Andrea Breth, Dietrich Hilsdorf, Philippe Arlaud, Philipp Himmelmann, Johanna Schall and Florian Lutz. In 2009-2014, with the support of the Robert Bosch Stiftung, he served as Music Director of the Mozart Opera Festival in Vladivostok, conducting a cycle of operas including The Magic Flute, Figaro, Don Giovanni and a shortened version of The Flying Dutchman. In 1997 he conducted the première of Peter Eötvös’ Radames for the inaugural season of the Center for Media Technology ZKM Karlsruhe. In 2005 he was invited to lead the opening gala for the Year of Japanese-German Cooperation in presence of both country’s presidents. In 2010 Mr Engelen together with Het Collectief was named artist in residence of Belgian concert hall deSingel, Antwerp. Having previously been musical assistant to conductors such as Thomas Hengelbrock, Gennadi Roshdestvensky, Lothar Zagrosek, Philippe Auguin and Stefan Soltesz, he was assisting Marek Janowski for the widely acclaimed performance and recording cycle of Richard Wagner’s complete stage work in 2010-2013. His discography includes a recording of Pierrot lunaire, which won the Diapason d’Or. In 2013 Mr Engelen also won the prestigious ECHO Klassik.

 

 

Since fall 2018 the Royal Conservatory of Brussels named him professor for orchestral conducting.

 

 

Druckversion Druckversion | Sitemap
© Robin Engelen

Vita - deutsch

 

 

 

 

Robin Engelen ist seit 2015 1. Kapellmeister und stellvertretender Chefdirigent der Oper Graz. Während seines Studiums bei Wolf-Dieter Hauschild und Günter Wand war er von 1993 bis 2003 musikalischer Leiter des Ensemble Klangwerk, mit dem er ein breites Repertoire erarbeitete - darunter ein vollständiger Zyklus von Symphonien Beethovens, Brahms, sowie Meisterwerken des 20. Jahrhunderts von Strawinsky, Bartók, Ravel und Schostakowitsch. An der Staatsoper Stuttgart, ab 1999 zuerst als Solorepetitor, 2003 als Kapellmeister und 2004 als musikalischer Assistent von GMD Lothar Zagrosek, leitete Engelen zahlreiche Aufführungen der Opern von Mozart, Smetana, Prokofiew, Saint-Saens und Richard Wagner. Ferruccio Busoni’s Doktor Faust wurde von der Zeitschrift Opernwelt zur Inszenierung des Jahres gewählt. Von 2010 bis 2013 war er 1. Kapellmeister und stellvertretender GMD am Theater Bonn, wo er Bizet, Rossini, Bellini, Verdi, Puccini, Nicolai, Lortzing, Humperdinck, Délibes und wieder Mozart dirigierte. 2001 ernannte ihn das belgische Ensemble Het Collectief zu seinem Principal Guest Conductor.

 

 

Robin Engelen hat viele hervorragende Klangkörper dirigiert, u.a. das Konzerthausorchester Berlin sowie die Radio Sinfonieorchester Berlin und  SWR Stuttgart, das Gewandhausorchester Leipzig, das Tokyo Philharmonic Orchestra, deFilharmonie Antwerpen, das Staatsorchester Halle, die Stuttgarter und Essener Philharmoniker, die Düsseldorfer und die Brandenburger Symphoniker, das Mahler Chamber Orchestra, die Staatsphilharmonie Rheinland-Pfalz, sowie das Stuttgarter Kammerorchester, welches er auf Tourneen durch Korea, Italien und der Türkei leitete. Engelen ist regelmäßig Gast verschiedener Festivals wie Oregon Bach Festival (USA), Rheingau Musik Festival, Musikfest Stuttgart, Beethovenfest Bonn, Festspiele Bregenz und Baden-Baden, Festival van Vlaanderen und Festival Ars Musica (Belgien), Accademia Crete Senesi (Italien), Festival Abbaye des Dames, Saintes (Frankreich), Internationales Musikfest Tongyeong (Südkorea).

 

 

Sein Interesse an der Musik früherer Epochen ließ ihn das Kammerorchester C. P. E. Bach Berlin, das Stuttgart Bach Collegium, die Gächinger Kantorei und in Europas ältestem Barocktheater das Gotha Barockfestival Orchester dirigieren. Aufgrund seines weit aufgestellten Repertoires mit Musik vom 17. Bis 21. Jahrhundert, leitete er ebenfalls zahlreiche Ur- und Erstaufführung zeitgenössischer Komponisten und arbeitete eng zusammen mit bekannten Komponisten der Neuzeit wie Sofia Gubaidulina, Wolfgang Rihm, Peter Eötvös, Helmut Lachenmann, Toshio Hosokawa, Mauricio Kagel, Judith Weir, Sally Beamish und Frank Michael Beyer. Seine Aufnahme der Saxophonkonzerte von Beamish, Steven Stucky und Chen Yi wurde beim Label BIS veröffentlicht. Mit Helmuth Rilling als Partner dirigierte er eine weithin beachtete Produktion von Benjamin Brittens War Requiem mit Annette Dasch, James Taylor und Christian Gerhaher als Solisten.

 

 

Als Pianist und Cembalist ist Robin Engelen gefragter Partner verschiedenster Sänger und Instrumentalisten, unter ihnen Annette Dasch, Helene Schneiderman, Catriona Smith, Melanie Diener, Mirella Hagen, Michael Volle, Markus Butter, Carsten Süss, Gernot Süßmuth, Friedemann Eichhorn, Gaby Pas-van Riet oder Quirine Viersen. Er tritt auf als Jazzpianist und Arrangeur, unter anderem auf dem Oregon Bach Festival und dem Vladivostok Jazz Festival, und als Partner des berühmten Tango-Sextetts Sexteto Mayor.

 

Als bemerkenswerter Operndirigent leitete Robin Engelen Aufführungen und Produktionen in in den Opernhäusern von Berlin (Komische Oper), Paris (Garnier), Mannheim, Antwerpen, Leipzig, Kassel, Essen, Rostock, Palermo, Jakutsk, Tokio und Seoul.  Er arbeitete zusammen mit Regisseuren wie Graham Vick, Peter Konwitschny, Jossi Wieler, Andrea Breth, Dietrich Hilsdorf, Philippe Arlaud, Philipp Himmelmann, Roland Schwab, Johanna Schall und Florian Lutz. Von 2009 bis 2014 engagierte Engelen sich mit der Unterstützung der Robert Bosch Stiftung im Fernen Osten Rußlands und dirigierte in Vladivostok Erstaufführungen von Die Zauberflöte, Le nozze di Figaro,  Don Giovanni sowie Wagners Fliegendem Holländer. 1997 leitete er zur Eröffnung des ZKM Karlsruhe die Uraufführung von Peter Eötvös’ Radames. 2005 dirigierte er die Eröffnungsgala zum Deutsch-Japanischen Jahr in Tokio in Gegenwart der Präsidenten beider Länder. Gemeinsam mit Het Collectief war er Artist in Residence des Belgischen Kunstcampus deSingel, Antwerpen. Als musikalischer Assistent unterstützte er Dirigenten wie Thomas Hengelbrock, Gennadi Roshdestvensky, Lothar Zagrosek, Philippe Auguin und Stefan Soltesz bei ihrer Arbeit. Von 2010 bis 2013  assistierte er Marek Janowski bei dem weithin beachteten Aufführungszyklus aller großen Wagner-Opern in der Berliner Philharmonie. Seine Diskographie beinhaltet eine mit dem Diapason d’Or ausgezeichneten Aufnahme des Pierrot lunaire. Darüber hinaus gewann er 2013 für die CD-Aufnahme „Na warte, sagte Schwarte“ einen ECHO Klassik.

 

Seit dem Wintersemester 2018/19 berief ihn das Conservatoire Royal de Bruxelles zum Professor für Orchesterdirigieren.

 

 

Druckversion Druckversion | Sitemap
© Robin Engelen